Musical mavericks Sparks – Californian brothers Ron and Russell Mael – will release their new studio album ‘Hippopotamus’ on September 8th 2017 on BMG, accompanied by the first European dates of The Hippopotamus Tour.

Recorded in Los Angeles, ‘Hippopotamus’ sees them take the pop form, shake it up, and create an album that is adventurous, fresh and idiosyncratically ‘Sparks’.

Described as “the smartest, most consistently evolving band in the history of rock”, and internationally acclaimed as pop pioneers, Sparks’ music has always been innovative and instantly identifiable. The title track, first played on BBC Radio 6 Music, was released as a single at midnight Friday 24th March after the band performed it, as well as 3 other songs from the album, in their set at the 6 Music Festival in Glasgow.

Watch the ‘Hippopotamus’ single video HERE.

Sparks have announced the first run of European dates of The Hippopotamus Tour, with more dates to be added.

Monday 07 Aug Vega Theater, Copenhagen
Tuesday 08 Aug Rockefeller, Oslo, Norway
Thursday 10 Aug Cirkus, Stockholm, Sweden
Saturday 12 Aug Flow Festival, Helsinki, Finland
Monday 11 Sep Lucerna Music Bar, Prague
Tuesday 12 Sep Columbia Theatre, Berlin
Thursday 14 Sep Paard van Troje, Den Haag
Friday 15 Sep Den Atelier, Luxembourg
Saturday 16 Sep Ancienne Belgique, Brussels
Wednesday 20 Sep Queens Hall, Edinburgh
Friday 22 Sep O2 Ritz, Manchester
Saturday 23 Sep Rock City, Nottingham
Sunday 24 Sep O2 Institute 1, Birmingham
Tuesday 26 Sep 02 Academy, Bristol
Wednesday 27 Sep O2 Shepherds Bush Empire, London

Tickets pre-sale Wednesday 29th March, general on sale Friday 31st March. See www.allsparks.com for ticket details.

Comments

comments