Matthew Sweet teams up with Susanna Hoffs once again for the third volume in an acclaimed series, Under the Covers Volume 3 released 9th December. The album is comprised of covers reinterpreted by the duo, addressing itself to the Eighties after Volume 1 covered the Sixties and Volume 2 the Seventies.

The song selection includes the likes of The Smiths ‘How Soon is Now’, The Go-Go’s ‘Our Lips are Sealed’, The Pretenders ‘Kid’ and Dave Edmunds’ ‘Girls Talk’ to name a few, along with more outré choices such as Roxy Music’s ‘More Than This’ and Lindsey Buckingham’s ‘Trouble’.

Hoffs doesn’t shy away from calling the colourful album a challenge: “We veer from the original arrangements on some, but for me it was also being able to look at the 80s and have a different sense of that time period. As someone who was into the 60s, I had a weird resistance to what was going on during the 80s and for years beyond it. But when Matthew and I were crafting the list, we immediately gravitated to R.E.M. and all the guitar-driven indie rock and pop – that part of the 80s. So we started there and then expanded.”

Primarily recorded in Sweet’s Lolina Green studio in Los Angeles, Hoffs recorded most of her vocals in her home studio. Rick Menck joins them on drums, Dennis Taylor on guitars and some bass, and Andrew Brassell on 12-string electric on two tracks.


Tracks on the album include:

Sitting Still (R.E.M.)

Girls Talk (Dave Edmunds)

Big Brown Eyes (The dB’s)

Kid (Pretenders)


Free Fallin’ (Tom Petty)

Save It For Later (The English Beat)

They Don’t Know (Kirsty MacColl)

The Bulrushes (The Bongos)


Our Lips Are Sealed (The Go-Go’s)

How Soon Is Now (The Smiths)

More Than This (Roxy Music)

Towers of London (XTC)


Killing Moon (Echo and the Bunnymen)

Trouble (Lindsey Buckingham)

Under the Covers Volume 3 is released on 9th December.