Sigue Sigue Sputnik singer Neal X has formed a new band, The Montecristos, who release their debut album Born To Rock N Roll on March 26.
The six-piece features Emma Goss (double bass), Gemma B (trumpet), Hugh Wilkinson (drums) and saxophonists Sophie Freeman and Orlando La Rose. X said: “I’m still totally head over leopard-print high heels in love with rock & roll. I wanted to form a band that took the energy and spirit of Little Richard in The Girl Can’t Help It and make it look and sound totally contemporary for the 21st century. It’s glammy, trashy, classy and sexy rock & roll – driven by my fist-sized overactive adrenal gland.”
In recent years, X has been guitarist and co-writer for Marc Almond, who guests on the song Brand New Cadillac. The album also features a version of Sigue Sigue Sputnik’s hit Love Missile F1-11.
Working with Babybird mainman Stephen Jones, X has also written the soundtrack for Men Behaving Badly creator Simon Nye’s new film Down Dog, out February 15.
Born To Rock N Roll full tracklisting:

Atlantic Surf
Born To Rock N Roll
Hotel Pelirocco
Jayne Mansfield
Brand New Cadillac (Featuring Marc Almond)
Badfinger Twang
Good Lovin’
Love Missile F1-11
A Little Bitty Bit Of Your Love
Dirty Little Lowlife
I’m Going Home