Factory Records signings Section 25 are to release a brand new single for Record Store Day on April 18 and have revealed they also are to release a brand new album in 2016.


Limited to 500 7” copies, Mirror and its B-side You Leave Me No Choice were written in 1980-81, but were never recorded by the Blackpool band’s original line-up. Former A Certain Ratio percussionist Simon Topping sings the recordings in place of original vocalist Larry Cassidy, who died in 2010.


The same week sees a reissue of Section 25’s debut album Always Now. Remastered from its original release produced by Martin Rushent in 1981, the new version adds a second disc featuring singles, B-sides, outtakes, a John Peel Session and a complete gig from 1980.


It also recreates designer Peter Saville’s original wraparound sleeve, which is purportedly one of the most expensive in Factory history.
The new line-up, featuring new singer Beth Cassidy, go on a three-date tour in April.



Section 25 will be playing:

London Borderline (April 11)

Manchester Deaf Institute (18)

Blackpool Alfresco Festival (May 24)