Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott have confirmed details of new album Wisdom, Laughter And Lines.

Out on October 23 and the follow-up to 2013’s What Have We Become, it’s preceded by new single The Austerity Of Love. The single has been previewed live and received its first play on Radio 2 on Tuesday.

Heaton said of the album: “Jacqui is one of the best singers I’ve worked with and is also part of my past. This new album came together easily because we work so well together. The album title derives from a line in one of the songs and it sort-of sums up where I am in life.”

Made with their regular producer John Williams, it’s followed by a nine-date tour starting on October 28, for which tickets go on sale on Friday. The full album tracklisting is: (Man Is) The Biggest Bitch Of All; The Austerity Of Love; I Don’t See Them; Heatongrad; Sundial In The Shade; Lonesome And Sad Millionaire; The Queen Of Soho; The Horse And Groom; When Love For Woman Stops; No One Wants To Play; Wives 1, 2 And 3; You, The Mountain And Me. A deluxe version adds four extra songs.


Abbott, who previously sang with Heaton in The Beautiful South from 1994-2000, said: “It’s just great to be singing again, and I’m excited about playing these new songs live. We had such a good run together previously, and it’s a real pleasure to be working with Paul again, singing these fantastic songs.”

Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott will play:

Colne Muni Theatre (October 28)

London Electric Ballroom (29)


Sheffield O2 Academy (30)

Middlesbrough Town Hall (31)

Scunthorpe Baths Hall (November 2)

Norwich UEA (3)


Oxford O2 Academy (4)

Kilmarnock Grand Hall (6)

Glenrothes Hall (7)