Diana Ross is set to return with her first album of original music in 22 years.

Thank You is scheduled for release in September 2021 and sees Ross working alongside a variety of contemporary songwriters and producers including Jack Antonoff (Taylor Swift, Lana Del Rey, Lorde), Jimmy Napes (Sam Smith, Ellie Goulding), Tayla Parx (Ariana Grande) and Spike Stent (Grimes, Lady Gaga).

The former Supreme’s last album of original material was 1999’s Every Day Is A New Day. Two covers albums, Blue and I Love You, followed in 2006.

“This collection of songs is my gift to you with appreciation and love. I am eternally grateful that I had the opportunity to record this glorious music at this time,” the 77-year-old said in a statement. “I dedicate this songbook of love to all of you, the listeners. As you hear my voice you hear my heart.”

The press release states the album “offers a powerful, inclusive musical message of love and togetherness” and that “with its songs of happiness, appreciation, and joy, it wholeheartedly acknowledges that we are in this all together”.

Ross has a co-writing credit on all 13 songs, including the disco-flavoured title track, which was released today (17 June).

Thank You will be the soul legend’s 25th solo album and her first on Decca. She’s scheduled to tour the UK next year.


Thank You tracklisting:

Thank You
If the World Just Danced
All Is Well
In Your Heart
Just In Case
The Answer’s Always Love
Let’s Do It
I Still Believe
Count On Me
Beautiful Love
Time To Call
Come Together