Natalie Imbruglia has announced details of her new album, Firebird, her first since 2015’s Male.

Firebird is set for release on 24 September via BMG, with its lead single, Build It Better, dropping today.

The new album was written in an array of international locations alongside Albert Hammond Jr of The Strokes, Romeo Stodart of The Magic Numbers, KT Tunstall, Eg White (Adele, Dua Lipa, Sam Smith), Luke Fitton (Little Mix, Girls Aloud), Fiona Bevan (One Direction, Ed Sheeran), Rachel Furner (Little Mix, Jason Derulo, Craig David) and more.

In contrast, the album was almost entirely recorded in lockdown, produced remotely by Imbruglia and My Riot with additional production from Albert Hammond Jr, Gus Oberg (The Strokes, Albert Hammond Jr) and Romeo Stodart (Magic Numbers). 

“Making this album has been such a profound and satisfying experience,” says Imbruglia. “Having gone through a long period of what essentially was writer’s block, it was sometimes hard to envisage getting to this place. Before the pandemic, I started the process of writing this album in London and soon after, I headed to Nashville. With each session and new collaborator, I started to gain confidence, find my voice again, and craft the sound and style that felt authentic to me.  It’s been such a privilege to work with such an array of talent on Firebird.  I just can’t wait for people to finally hear it.”

New single Build It Better is the first to be lifted from the forthcoming FirebirdThe singer describes the song as “surrendering to the chaos and seeing what’s on the other side of it is a good life lesson. Letting something fall apart, and being okay with that, is something that I have had to do in my life, numerous times, but especially moving into this record and becoming a mum. So I’m really excited about that song, and about the video, which is total escapist fun – the world needs that right now.”

Firebird will be available on CD (Standard & Deluxe) limited signed CD (Standard & Deluxe), limited blue Vinyl and digitally via BMG on 24 September.

Firebird tracklisting

  1. Build It Better
  2. Nothing Missing
  3. What It Feels Like
  4. On My Way
  5. Maybe It’s Great
  6. Just Like Old Times
  7. When You Love Too Much
  8. Not Sorry
  9. Human Touch
  10. Change Of Heart
  11. Invisible Things
  12. Dive To The Deep
  13. River
  14. Firebird