ABBA new songs

ABBA have officially reunited and shared their first new songs for four decades. The announcement also included news of an avatar live show with a purpose-built arena in London.

The unveiling of the tracks comes alongside news of the band’s first album in four decades. The 10-track ABBA Voyage will be released on 5 November, 40 years after their last LP, The Visitors. The band also revealed details of a “revolutionary” set of concerts where virtual avatars will perform many of the group’s classic songs.

The live show, ABBA Voyage, will open on 27 May 2022 at the ABBA Arena, a state-of-the-art 3,000 capacity arena located at Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park in London. Pre-registration for tickets opens at 6pm tonight on with tickets on general sale from Tuesday 7 September. Tickets for the concerts are available here.

“It’s been a while since we made music together,” the band said in a statement. “We took a break in the spring of 1982 and now we’ve decided it’s time to end it. They say it’s foolhardy to wait more than 40 years between albums, so we’ve recorded a follow-up to The Visitors.

“To tell the truth, the main inspiration to record again comes from our involvement in creating the strangest and most spectacular concert you could ever dream of. We’re going to be able to sit back in an audience and watch our digital selves perform our songs on a stage in a custom-built arena in London next spring. Weird and wonderful!”

“To all of you who patiently have followed us in some way or another these past decades: Thank you for waiting – it’s time for a new journey to begin.

“We simply call it Voyage and we’re truly sailing in uncharted waters. With the help of our younger selves, we travel into the future. It’s not easy to explain but then it hasn’t been done before.”

The band – Agnetha Fältskog, Björn Ulvaeus, Benny Andersson and Anni-Frid Lyngstad – premiered the video for I Still Have Faith In You – online on Thursday afternoon.

“When Benny played the melody, I just knew it had to be about us,” said Ulvaeus, explaining the song’s origins. “It’s about realising that it’s inconceivable to be where we are. No imagination could dream up that, to release an album after 40 years and still be the best of friends, and still be enjoying each other’s company, and have a total loyalty. Who has experienced that? Nobody.”

Another song, Don’t Shut Me Down, has been shared ahead of the release of the new album, which will be ABBA’s ninth studio record.

ABBA Voyage goes on sale on 5 November.

Voyage tracklist

  1. I Still Have Faith In You
  2. When You Danced With Me
  3. Little Things
  4. Dont Shut Me Down
  5. Just A Notion
  6. I Can Be That Woman
  7. Keep An Eye On Dan
  8. Bumble Bee
  9. No Doubt About It
  10. Ode To Freedom


Read more: Top 40 ABBA songs