When is Matt Goss’ new album The Beautiful Unknown out?

Originally scheduled to drop this month, Matt Goss’ fifth solo album, The Beautiful Unknown, will now be released on 4 February 2022. You can pre-order the album here.

The title of the LP, The Beautiful Unknown, came from a phrase that came to Goss while writing poetry. Explaining the title, he says: “We have been conditioned to fear tomorrow, to fear next week, to be fearful of next year certainly. Because there is this unknown energy around all of us – no time more than now. And I’ve been through the ringer during COVID, betrayed by some people, uplifted by others. 

“So The Beautiful Unknown is a request to people to come along with this philosophy that tomorrow is going to be a good day and a good place.”

Matt Goss The Beautiful Unknown cover
Matt Goss The Beautiful Unknown cover

Read our exclusive Matt Goss interview

What songs will be on The Beautiful Unknown?

The tracklisting is as follows:

  1. Somewhere To Fall
  2. Unafraid
  3. Feeling High
  4. Saved
  5. The Joke
  6. Soldiers of War
  7. Better With You
  8. Shipwreck
  9. The Beautiful Unknown
  10. Making It Rain
  11. Landslide

The first single from the LP, Somewhere To Fall, was released in August. Speaking about the track, Goss said he wanted to write “an intelligent pop song”. 

“I’ve disguised quite a heavy lyric within a joyous pop song,” Goss explained of the single, adding that it’s “about finding a safe place to rest our strength”.

“That might be with a partner, in your home, a park bench, I don’t know where it is. But it’s somewhere for you,” he added.

Saved is his most recent single release with the video directed by Matt himself.

Will Matt Goss be touring in 2022?

Matt currently has no plans to tour the UK, but, as ever, watch this space.

Want more from Classic Pop? Try an issue for only 99p today. Click here for more details.