Rick Astley new album
Rick Astley’s new album, Are We There Yet?

Rick Astley has announced a new album, Are We There Yet?, due for release on 6 October.

The album, the press release states, “is the sound of Rick reflecting and building upon the experiences he’s gone through since the release of 2018’s Beautiful Life. Some of the new songs were started during lockdown in 2020, but he decided to leave them deliberately unfinished until it was feasible to play them live again. A simple, unadorned piano ballad Blue Sky speaks of the natural serenity that came from lockdown, but it’s a set that draws upon an eclectic array of inspirations.”

Talking of the album’s title, Rick says: “Now, that phrase has multiple meanings. Are we there yet in my musical ambitions? Am I done with my career? Have we arrived? Or are we still travelling?”

The time that Rick spent in America’s heartland together with his lifelong love of soul stalwarts Bill Withers, Al Green and Marvin Gaye helped inform the sound of the new album. It’s particularly prominent in Dippin My Feet’, which puts an invigorating twist on Rick’s signature style.

Rick Astley says: “It’s not Americana, but the tag-line at the start of the chorus is: ‘Dipping my feet in the Mississippi River…’ It’s definitely not country, but I’ve never twanged a guitar as much as I have in the past couple of months. And there’s a bit more emotion with those guitar parts. I just think spending five months in America has retuned my ear a little bit.”

Are We There Yet? is available to pre-order here. In addition to its digital release, physical formats include a CD, a CD with a signed postcard, and a coloured vinyl. Rick’s official store offers exclusive products such as a vinyl picture disc, a deluxe CD and a cassette. There is also a CD with an alternative colour sleeve, which will be stocked exclusively by HMV.

Fans who pre-order the album here by 7pm on Tuesday, June 20th will receive access to a pre-sale for tour tickets. The pre-sale opens at 9.30am on Wednesday, June 21st and will remain live until remaining tickets go on general sale from 9.30am on Friday, June 23rd via www.gigsandtours.com and www.ticketmaster.co.uk.

In addition to the new tour dates and Glastonbury, Rick is also confirmed to play Standon Calling (July 23rd), Kendal Calling (July 29th), Paloznaki Jazzpiknik in Hungary (August 3rd), Tivoli Gardens in Copenhagen (August 11th), Carfest South (August 25th), The Big Feastival (August 27th) and Radio 2 Live in The Park (September 17th).

‘Are We There Yet?’ tracklist:

  1. ‘Dippin My Feet’
  2. ‘Letting Go’
  3. ‘Golden Hour’
  4. ‘Never Gonna Stop’
  5. ‘Close (Your Shoes)’
  6. ‘High Enough’
  7. ‘Forever and More’
  8. ‘Driving Me Crazy’
  9. ‘Maria Love’
  10. ‘Take Me Back To Your Place’
  11. ‘Waterfall’

12.‘Blue Sky’

Headline tour dates:


Wednesday 01 November            London Royal Albert Hall

Thursday 02 November                 London Royal Albert Hall                             


Thursday 22 February                    Nottingham Motorpoint Arena   

Friday 23 February                          Newcastle Utilita Arena  

Saturday 24 February                     Leeds First Direct Arena 

Monday 26 February                      Cardiff International Arena

Tuesday 27 February                      Glasgow OVO Hydro                                                     

Thursday 29 February                    Bournemouth International Centre

Friday 01 March                              Birmingham Resorts World Arena

Saturday 02 March                         Manchester AO Arena    

RICK ASTLEY will be joined by very special guests BELINDA CARLISLE (except London) + THE FEELING (London only)