Picture Credit: Tom Sheehan

Paul Heaton will release a brand new solo album The Mighty Several, featuring his latest single Fish ’N’ Chip Supper, later this year in October.

A typical slice of bittersweet kitchen sink drama, Fish ’N’ Chip Supper is set to a deliciously infectious pop groove and was written by Paul Heaton and guitarist Jonny Lexus.

Listen below:

Produced by Ian Broudie of the Lightning Seeds and recorded at Blueprint Studios in Salford, The Mighty Several features 12 new original songs, performed by Paul and his band alongside a number of special guest singers including Heaton’s regular live vocalist Rianne Downey as well as Yvonne Shelton and Danny Muldoon.

Available on all digital platforms and on vinyl, CD and cassette, The Mighty Several will be available on 11 October.

The full tracklisting is:

National Treasure
After The Sugar Rush
Fish ‘N’ Chip Supper
H Into Hurt
Silly Me
Small Boats
Just Another Family
Pull Up A Seat
The Blues Came In
Couldn’t Get Dead
Walk On, Slow Down

PAUL HEATON new album The Mighty Several cover art

The Last King Of Pop

Heaton is one of the UK’s most successful songwriters, with five No.1 albums and some 15 million album sales under his belt.

He first came to prominence in the early 80s as frontman of The Housemartins (the same group that gave us Norman ‘Fatboy Slim’ Cook), who released two albums London 0 Hull  4 (’86) and The People Who Grinned Themselves To Death (’87).

In 1988 Heaton formed The Beautiful South, who released 10 hugely successful albums – Welcome To The Beautiful South, Choke, 0898 Beautiful South, Miaow, Blue Is The Colour, Quench, Painting It Red, Gaze, Golddiggas, Headnodders & Pholk Songs and Superbi.

In 2001 Heaton took a break from The Beautiful South and released a number of solo albums, Fat Chance, The Cross-Eyed Rambler and Acid Country, before writing a musical called The 8th based on the Seven Deadly Sins and asked former Beautiful South singer Jacqui Abbott to perform in it.

Paul and Jacqui went on to record five acclaimed albums as a duo: What Have We Become, Wisdom, Laughter And Lines, Crooked Calypso, Manchester Calling and N.K-Pop.

In 2019 Paul released a career-spanning compilation of his biggest hits entitled The Last King Of Pop.

UK Tour

Heaton will be performing songs from throughout his career including classic tracks by The Beautiful South and The Housemartins during a huge November/December UK tour:

Sat 30 LEEDS First Direct Arena
Sun 01 GLASGOW OVO Hydro
Tue 03 BRIGHTON Centre
Wed 04 WOLVERHAMPTON Civic Halls
Fri 06 LIVERPOOL M&S Bank Arena
Sat 07 NOTTINGHAM Motorpoint Arena
Mon 09 NEWCASTLE O2 City Hall
Tue 10 LONDON Eventim Apollo

Special guests on all dates will be The Zutons.

Tickets, costing priced £35.00 (plus ticket fees), available from 9:30am on Friday 28 June.

For exclusive ticket pre-sale access pre-order the new album here by 5pm Tuesday 25 June. Pre-sale access takes place from 9:30am on Wednesday 26 June.

Read More: Reigning in Manchester – the last King Of Pop Paul Heaton interview