Bonnie Tyler – Faster Than The Speed Of Night
Bonnie Tyler – Faster Than The Speed Of Night

Bonnie Tyler will release a 40th anniversary vinyl edition of her landmark album Faster Than The Speed Of Night on September 15th via Sony.

It’s now available to pre-order here, and it will be pressed on ruby red vinyl.

Faster Than The Speed Of Night changed everything for Bonnie Tyler. While she had scored a domestic Top 10 breakthrough with Lost In France and then a major international hit with It’s A Heartache, her first four albums failed to break into the UK album charts.

But then the super-charged drama of the power ballad Total Eclipse of The Heart became one of the defining hits of the era, as it raced to the top of the charts and was certified Platinum in both the UK and the US with over three million worldwide sales to date.

The album was similarly successful, hitting No.1 in the UK and No.4 in the US, while also climbing album charts everywhere from Australia to Norway.

Bonnie says about recording the album in New York: “I had the time of my life working on the album with all the musicians and crew and of course Jim Steinman.”

More career highlights followed the release of Faster Than The Speed of Night, including further Top 5 hits in the mid-80s with Holding Out For A Hero and A Rockin’ Good Way, a successful 1986 ‘Greatest Hits’ set, plus a Gold Badge Awardfrom BASCA (now The Ivors Academy) and a Eurovision campaign, both in 2013.

She has continued to tour and make high profile TV appearances all over the world, while 2019’s Between The Earth and The Stars became her highest charting UK studio album in over 30 years.

Bonnie Tyler’s current resurgence continues with the release of her autobiography Straight From The Heart on September 28th. It’s available to pre-order here.

She will then embark upon a 40 year ‘Total Eclipse of the Heart’ tour across Europe in October, which includes numerous arena shows and runs until the end of the year. See here for a full list of dates and ticket information.

Bonnie Tyler: ‘Faster Than The Speed of Night’ tracklist:

Side A

  1. ‘Have You Ever Seen the Rain?’
  2. ‘Faster Than the Speed of Night’
  3. ‘Getting So Excited’
  4. ‘Total Eclipse of the Heart’

Side B

  1. ‘It’s a Jungle Out There’
  2. ‘Goin’ Through the Motions’
  3. ‘Tears’
  4. ‘Take Me Back’

‘Straight from the Heart’