Travis stand before a white back drop
Image © Steve Gullick

Scottish indie stalwarts Travis return with new album, L.A. Times

Travis are set to return with a brand-new album this summer.

Released on 12 July, L.A. Times promises to be the collective’s most intimate LP since their breakthrough, The Man Who, topped the charts in 1999.

Talking about the release, singer Fran Healy said: “L.A. Times is our most personal album since The Man Who. There was a lot of big stuff to write about back then, the tectonic plates had shifted in my life. I was 22 when I was writing those songs. They were my therapy. Over 20 years later and the plates have shifted again. There’s a lot to talk about.”

Released via BMG, the announcement comes as the group shares new single Gaslight. Watch below:

Speaking about Gaslight, Healy says: I read a few weeks ago that gaslighting was the most web searched word in the world. We are living in a time where our realities are being warped by bosses, leaders, friends, teachers and politicians. It really is everywhere. Gaslighters want to control you. They tell you things which undermine your confidence in yourself and make you question reality and it makes you feel like you’re going crazy.”

L.A. Times Tracklisting:

1. Bus
2. Raze the Bar
3. Live It All Again
4. Gaslight
5. Alive
6. Home
7. I Hope That You Spontaneously Combust
8. Naked In New York City
9. The River
10. L.A. Times

Featuring Healy (vocals, guitar), Andy Dunlop (guitar), Dougie Payne (bass) and Neil Primrose (drums), the line-up has remained the same since their formation at the Glasgow School of Art in the 1990s.

Travis will begin a huge live season in summer 2024, confirmed to perform with The Killers across their 16-date UK arena tour through June and July, with more live activity across the UK and Europe soon to be announced.

L.A. Times is available digitally, on CD and vinyl. The album is also available as a limited deluxe 2CD package which includes a stripped-back version of the L.A. Times album. HMV and indie stores have a limited-edition green marble vinyl and the band’s official store has exclusive limited yellow vinyl and merch bundles. Pre-Order here

Sign up for the Classic Pop newsletter