John Squire and Liam Gallagher
John Squire and Liam Gallagher

Liam Gallagher and John Squire announce self-titled debut album, new single, and first tour dates

Liam Gallagher and John Squire have released further information about their debut album, a second single, and details of their first UK and Ireland tour.

Following the release of Just Another Rainbow at the beginning of the year, the former Oasis frontman and Stone Roses guitarist have announced their first live shows together. The pair will play:

March dates:

13 Glasgow, Barrowland
14 Wolverhampton, Civic Hall
16 Dublin, Olympia
18 Newcastle, O2 City Hall
20 Manchester, O2 Apollo
21 Manchester, O2 Apollo
23 Leeds, O2 Academy
25 London, O2 Forum Kentish Town
26 London, Troxy

To celebrate the duo have also unveiled their second single, Mars To Liverpool, listen below:

Mutual admiration

Scheduled for a 1 March release, the self-titled album is available to pre-order here.

Gallagher says,“I can’t wait for people to hear the album. I think the people that are into The Stone Roses and Oasis and that kinda thing, I think they’ll fucking love it. It’s spiritual, it’s crucial.”

Gallagher & Squire cover art by John Squire

Long-term friends with a mutual admiration for each other’s work, the idea of a collaboration started when Squire joined Gallagher on-stage at his Knebworth shows.

The Stone Roses guitarist said, “It was really inspiring to have those Knebworth gigs fresh in my mind as I started writing. Then it was a case of trying to steer it away from all being too rocky, and trying to mix up the sentiments as well. I like the way that in some parts, it’s quite melancholic and it can make you well up, but there are other parts that are kind of irreverent, rude or crude. There’s a little bit of everything in there, I think it’s a really good mix. I had a hunch that we’d sound good together, but I wasn’t prepared for it to be such a good fit.”

Album tracklist:

1. Raise Your Hands
2. Mars To Liverpool
3. One Day At A Time
4. I’m A Wheel
5. Just Another Rainbow
6. Love You Forever
7. Make It Up As You Go Along
8. You’re Not The Only One
9. I’m So Bored
10. Mother Nature’s Song

Physical formats include standard CD and vinyl, a Deluxe split-colour vinyl, a white vinyl stocked by HMV and select indie stores, and an Amazon exclusive orange EcoRecord vinyl.

Fans who pre-order the album from the official store by 3pm on Tuesday 30 January will receive access to a pre-sale for tour tickets. The pre-sale will open at 9:30am on Wednesday 31 January before any remaining tickets go on general sale from 9:30am on Friday 2 February.

In addition to the UK and Ireland March dates the pair, completed by Barrie Cadogan (Little Barrie, Paul Weller) on bass and Joey Waronker on drums, will also play:

April dates:

2 Paris, Salle Pleyel
4 Berlin, Columbiahalle
6 Milan, Fabrique
11 Brooklyn, Paramount

Jake Bugg will appear as special guest on all shows except Brooklyn.

Check out the story of The Stone Roses’ Spike Island show