INXS music

A new short film is set to be soundtracked by the songs of INXS.

Original Sin – The 7 Sins drops on 16 July on the Veeps streaming platform and is described as “a modern-day love story about a broken-hearted heroine and her journey through the seven sins and the quest towards the virtue of Hope.”

Directed by Amy Tinkham and championed by the founder of Petrol Records and Executive Producer Chris “CM” Murphy before his death earlier this year, Original Sin is the last project that Murphy was working on during his final days. The film is loosely based on and inspired by Italian writer Dante Alighieri’s Inferno and the spiritual journey through the Seven Sins of Purgatory — pride, envy, wrath, sloth, greed, gluttony, and lust.

The Original Sin short film reimagines Dante’s tale through the eyes of Jane, a 21st-century heroine isolated during the recent pandemic, who continues to search for love and the means to validate her soul.

“I was so honoured to be asked by the legendary Chris Murphy to explore telling a story through INXS music, but was also overwhelmed with how to start because it is such an iconic and incredible catalogue,” says Tinkham.

“So instead, I sat with the music for many, many weeks and let it tell me a story. It was an out-of-body experience actually because it feels more like the songs and the times we are living in, wrote this film than anything I consciously tried to do.”

“We are honoured that our music inspired such a beautiful and innovative short film,” says the band’s Kirk Pengilly. “INXS has always explored the marriage of our music with visuals, and we welcome the reimagined versions of our songs performed by a roster of contemporary and up-and-coming global artists.

“These versions of our songs are a perfect accompaniment to the film. Knowing that Original Sin was Chris Murphy’s last passion project makes it even that much more impactful. We are deeply grateful that we are now able to share Amy’s emotive and thought-provoking short film with our audience. Play it loud…” 

Read more: INXS interview

The accompanying 13-song soundtrack — the first-ever INXS-specific project between Petrol and UMe – will also be available 16 July and features a wealth of INXS-related material, including reworkings and reinterpretations of some of the band’s tracks.

Grammy Award-winning Petrol – INXS executive producer Giles Martin collaborated with Tinkham, developing the original concept. Academy Award-winning sound engineer Chris Jenkins mixed the 5.1 reimagined audio for the soundtrack.

Order Original Sin – The 7 Sins soundtrack on all major digital platforms on July 16 here.




  1.   Drum Opera – performed by Jon Farriss (INXS)
  2.   Let it Ride – performed by INXS
  3.   Kill The Pain – performed by Ida Redig
  4.   Never Tear Us Apart – performed by Global Network & Sophia Amato
  5.   Mediate – performed by Tricky & INXS
  6.   Suicide Blonde – performed by George Alice
  7.   Mystify – performed by Loane & INXS
  8.   What You Need – performed by Wyatt Stromer & Eric Stromer
  9.   Spill The Wine – performed by Michael Hutchence
  10. Taste It – performed by Ida Redig
  11. Don’t Change  – performed by Vimala & Aden Jaron
  12. Need You Tonight – performed by Trevor Jackson & Wyatt Stromer 
  13. New Sensation – performed by Alterboy