Paul Simon Seven Psalms
Paul Simon Seven Psalms

Legendary singer-songwriter Paul Simon has announced that his 15th album, Seven Psalms, will be released on 19 May 2023. It’s his first new LP since 2018’s In The Blue Light.

The album is a 33-minute, seven-movement collection intended to be heard – according to the press release  – as one continuous piece.

“It’s a record which establishes an engaging and meditative, almost hymnal ambience, with Paul’s vocals at the top of an acoustic arrangement,” it states. “Predominantly performed by Paul, the record is seasoned with esoteric percussion instruments, choral elements from the Grammy-nominated British vocal ensemble VOCES8, and a beautiful vocal appearance by Edie Brickell [Simon’s wife].”

The below video offers a behind-the-scenes look at the album’s creation. The video is a taster of a longer upcoming documentary about the record called In Restless Dreams, directed by Alex Gibney.

Seven Psalms tracklisting: 

  1. ‘The Lord’
  2. ‘Love Is Like A Braid’
  3. ‘My Professional Opinion’
  4. ‘Your Forgiveness’
  5. ‘Trail Of Volcanoes’
  6. ‘The Sacred Harp’
  7. ‘Wait’

Seven Psalms will be released on vinyl, and as a 33-minute single-track on CD, streaming and download formats via Owl Records and Legacy Recordings, a division of Sony Music Entertainment.

The album is available to pre-order or pre-save here.