The Lilac Time return on April 6 with new album No Sad Songs.
It’s the trio’s first new album since 2007’s Runout Groove and the first since 2001’s Lilac6 to be released under the band’s original name, rather than as “Stephen Duffy And The Lilac Time”.
The 10 songs were whittled down from 20 recorded for the album in Cornwall where husband-and-wife vocalists Stephen and Claire Duffy were joined by multi-instrumentalist Nick Duffy. Songs include The Western Greyhound, A Cat On The Long Wave and the opening The First Song Of Spring.
Since releasing Runout Groove, the band put out 2009’s compilation Memory And Desire alongside a documentary of the same name.