New Order have announced the release of their debut album Movement as a box set, available from 5 April 2019

New Order announce Movement box set

New Order have announced the box set release of their debut album Movement on 5 April 2019. The four 12 inch singles that were released around the same period but did not feature on the album will also be released.

Out of the ashes of Joy Division, the remaining members decided to carry on recording under the name of New Order. The band’s debut album Movement recorded between 24 April and 4 May 1981 at Strawberry in Stockport, featuring all new material, was released on 11 November 1981 on Factory Records.

The Movement box set will include the vinyl LP with its original iconic sleeve designed by Peter Saville, original album CD replica, bonus CD of previously unreleased tracks, DVD of live shows and TV appearances plus hard-backed book all housed in a lift off lid box.


The four 12 inch singles Ceremony (Original Version), Ceremony (Re-recorded Version), Everythings Gone Green and Temptation will also be released weekly in their original sleeves, starting on 8 March.

The full tracklisting is available here.

Read more: Daryl Hall & John Oates announce first UK tour in five years