Sophie B Hawkins
Photo by Nigel Dick

Sophie B Hawkins, who enjoyed two of the biggest hits of the ‘90s with Damn, I Wish I Was Your Lover and As I Lay Me Down, returns with her first new album in 11 years: Free Myself, out on April 7 on CD and vinyl and available digitally from March 24. You can pre-order it here

The album came to life after a tumultuous period that Hawkins refers to as “my personal tsunami,” which included splitting with her longtime partner and returning to New York after 17 years in Venice, California.

“I came back to where I’m from and decided to have my second child, and through all that, and from all that, this album came to be,” says Hawkins.

Also a passionate activist, she’s emphatically supported such causes as environmental protection, animal rights, and LGBTQ+ equality, unceasingly using her platform for positive change as the culture slowly caught up to the forward-thinking outlook she’d espoused all along. 

In a departure from the self-contained process behind her last album, 2012’s The Crossing, the singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist co-produced alongside engineer Ken Rich (Ani DiFranco, Ingrid Michaelson), working with musicians like pianist/string arranger Andrew Sherman. 

Sophie B Hawkins – Free Myself tracklisting

  1. Love Yourself
  2. Better Off Without You
  3. Green Eyes
  4. Free Myself
  5. Consume Me In Your Fire
  6. Hungered For Love
  7. Fairy Tales
  8. Angel In Disguise
  9. I’m Tired Of Taking Care Of You
  10. You Are My Balloon