New spatial audio edition of Introducing The Hardline According To… released

Introducing The Hardline According To

Sananda Maitreya is celebrating the 35th anniversary of his landmark debut album Introducing The Hardline According To… with a digitally remastered and spatial audio edition, overseen by original producer Martyn Ware.

Originally released in 1987 and featuring the hits Wishing Well and If You Let Me Stay, Introducing… by the artist formerly known as Terence Trent D’Arby debuted at No.1 in the UK and returned to the top spot several months later for a seven week run. Certified 5x Platinum, only four records spent more time at No.1 in the entire decade. It was similarly successful in the States, where it reached No.4 and double-Platinum status, while the single Wishing Well was a chart-topper.

The latest version of the album was remastered by original producer Martyn Ware who also mixed the spatial audio. The new spatial audio edition of the album provides a deeper immersive quality and physicality.

Sananda explains: “Before the internet, before YouTube, this album led into my initial foray after which things wouldn’t be the same again. I am very proud; what remains 35 years later is a work that still has the blessing of time upon it. Sometimes you just find yourself fortunate enough to be at the right time and the right place. And such was my luck. I am who I am (for better or worse) because it was what it was. And as I like to say, ‘’It Ain’t What You THINK It Is, But It IS What It Looks Like’. The album arrived in 1987, the year of ‘Harmonic Convergence’. My old friend and the album’s producer, the great Martyn Ware was of the utmost value to bring back into the project that together we initiated 35 years ago. As in the beginning, his contribution was incalculable and worth the wait.”

Sananda Maitreya followed the album up with Neither Fish Nor Flesh Raw and returned to the UK Top 10 in 1993 with Symphony Or Damn.

Introducing The Hardline According To

The new version of the album is available on digital platforms including Apple Music, Spotify, Amazon Music, Deezer and Tidal.

Introducing The Hardline According To… tracklist:

1. ‘If You All Get to Heaven’
2. ‘If You Let Me Stay’
3. ‘Wishing Well’
4. ‘I’ll Never Turn My Back on You (Father’s Words)’
5. ‘Dance Little Sister’
6. ‘Seven More Days’
7. ‘Let’s Go Forward’
8. ‘Rain’
9. ‘Sign Your Name’
10. ‘As Yet Untitled’
11. ‘Who’s Loving You’


More Classic Pop News