Kylie TensionPic credit: Erik Melvin

Kylie Minogue has released a new single to kick off the campaign for forthcoming 16th studio album Tension.

Produced by Lostboy (Griff, Anne-Marie, Tiesto), new single Padam Padam is a classic slice of Minogue electro-pop. Filmed in Los Angeles and directed by Sophie Muller, its video sees a powerful and otherworldly Kylie dressed head to toe in red, including a custom-made Mugler catsuit with a dramatic sheer cape. The video will go live today at 2pm BST, here.

A statement from Minogue’s record label BMG promised that Tension delivers “a record of euphoric, empowered dance floor bangers and sultry pop cuts… 11 tracks of unabashed pleasure-seeking, seize-the-moment, joyful pop tunes.”

“I started this album with an open mind and a blank page,” Minogue explains in a press statement. “Unlike my last two albums there wasn’t a ‘theme,’ it was about finding the heart or the fun or the fantasy of that moment and always trying to service the song. I wanted to celebrate each song’s individuality and to dive into that freedom. I would say it’s a blend of personal reflection, club abandon and melancholic high.

“I loved being back in the studio with my collaborators but was also able to benefit from remote recording, which we have all got used to – my mobile studio never left my side for a year and a half! The album is a mix of songs I have written and songs which really spoke to me.

“Making this album helped me navigate challenging times and celebrate the now. I hope it accompanies listeners on their own journeys and becomes part of their story.”

Tension is set for release on 22 September via BMG.

Kylie – Tension tracklisting:

1. Padam Padam
2. Hold On To Now
3. Things We Do For Love
4. Tension
5. One More Time
6. You Still Get Me High
7. Hands
8. Green Light
9. Vegas High
10. 10 Out Of 10 (with Oliver Heldens)
11. Story

Deluxe Edition:

12. Love Train
13. Just Imagine
14. Somebody To Love