Dexys The Feminine Divine
Dexys The Feminine Divine cover

Dexys have released a new single, I’m Going To Get Free, as well as details about their first new album since 2012, The Feminine Divine, due out 28 July. You can pre-order it here.

“After taking some time out to refocus his energy, Kevin Rowland came back to music with a fresh perspective and new-found positivity,” says the press statement. “A personal, if not strictly autobiographical, record portraying a man whose views have evolved over time. Not just on women, but the whole concept of masculinity he had been raised with.”

According to the group, the single tells the story of a character striving to escape from mental health issues and aiming for a more positive outlook on life.

“The character is optimistically breaking free from internalised trauma, depression and guilt,” says frontman Kevin Rowland.

Written with Sean Read, Mike Timothy and original Dexys trombonist Big Jim Paterson, the album is produced by Pete Schwier and Toby Chapman.

The Feminine Divine tracklisting:

1. The One That Loves You
2. It’s Alright Kevin (Manhood 2023)
3. I’m Going To Get Free
4. Coming Home
5. The Feminine Divine
6. My Goddess Is
7. Goddess Rules
8. My Submission
9. Dance With Me